Winchester VA Restaurant Directory - Wincfood.com

GO TO MAIN SITE




LEAVE A REVIEW


The Brooklyn Chef Reviews
April 11, 2014
Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0

Comment on this review

I gave them a try and I must say I love it !!!!! Perfect hole in the wall spot and the food is amazing friendly workers and the chef comes out to the table to welcome you to the restaurant ... I gotta say don't knock them til you try them :)

Anonymous Reviewer


March 04, 2014
Vote = 4.0Vote = 4.0Vote = 4.0Vote = 4.0Vote = 4.0

Comment on this review

A group of 6 of us ate there a week ago. We were the only table there for the entire 75 minutes it took us to order, eat and pay. That's unfortunate, because the food was quite good. Three people had the carbonara, and all said it was delicious. The pasta is made on-site by the owner. I enjoyed my hot veggie sub, which was filled to dripping with grilled/sauteed zucchini, mushrooms, black olives, eggplant and plenty of cheese. The bread was substantial, and held up well with the gooey fillings. When I go again (and I will), I will order the spagetti & meatballs which smelled delicious. One diner also enjoyed the chicken meatball soup, which is a bit expensive, but is a large serving. I had coffee which was fresh and drinkable. I hope they succeed. Give it a try!

Anonymous Reviewer


January 09, 2014
Vote = 1.0Vote = 1.0Vote = 1.0Vote = 1.0Vote = 1.0

Comment on this review

Have tried to eat at the Brooklyn Chef....but they are never open when I've tried to stop in, and I mean like 7:30 last Friday night. And one other dinner time during the week.

They're business will be closed within 6 months.

Anonymous Reviewer


December 19, 2013
Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0

Comment on this review

When you think of The Brooklyn Chef, think of having an Italian sister or cousin
who is an excellent traditional cook, cooking for you personally. This is Italian-American home cooking- made to please the family- not an easy thing to do!!

The sauces, the seasonings, textures and the flavors are the real deal...!
They're heads and shoulders above most "Italian" style local restaurants,
and are truly authentic. For me, raised in New York, the nostalgia I experience
eating The Brooklyn Chef's food is huge- they really nail it!

Maybe we have all gotten too used to the "chain", corporate "restaurants",
with their policy-dictated mandatory canned greetings, and canned gravies,
where marketing consultants have figured everything out.

Brooklyn Chef, on the other hand, is like a popular local restaurant that was lifted straight out of an Italian neighborhood in Flatbush or Canarsie in Brooklyn.

Slick?...no! Real?...Absolutely! If you want to know what an Italian sauce SHOULD
taste like, you need to taste the food at Brooklyn Chef- it at least will give you a
standard against which to measure your own dining-out and home-cooking
experience.

Peter Stetler

Anonymous Reviewer


December 17, 2013
Vote = 4.0Vote = 4.0Vote = 4.0Vote = 4.0Vote = 4.0

Comment on this review

We had lunch there, first time, today. We were the only ones in there, and one to-go customer came in while we were there. Several tables had crumbs all over them, yet had clean placemats. There were two hamburgers ordered, and a pastrami on rye. The pastrami was very good, generous amount and the bread was a good fresh rye. Both the burger eaters said the burgers were very good. They were generous, char broiled, and nicely topped. They did not drip gobs of grease. They have taken all the lamb dishes off their menu, which was disappointing, but all in all the food was good, the service was fine, and the people were very nice. We would eat there again. I hope they put lamb back on the menu!

Anonymous Reviewer


December 14, 2013
Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0

Comment on this review

We tried The Brooklyn Chef for the first time last night. Wonderful food. Chicken Parmesan was incredible, great garlic bread and REAL fresh parmesan cheese. The pasta is made fresh everyday and it makes a difference. I would recommend this place and I look forward to trying more dishes. Very nice service!

Anonymous Reviewer


December 05, 2013
Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0Vote = 5.0

Comment on this review

Very surprised the previous review left for this restaurant. Have eaten there numerous times since they opened - I think we're addicted to the food! The chicken with meatballs soup is absolutely fabulous, I've had the eggplant parmigiana twice...can't get it enough times. Meatball subs with meatballs about the size of baseballs. Okay, maybe not, but close. Sure, they're still getting things like menu spelling and such down, but it's a 'mom and pop' place and they're probably too busy cooking everything from scratch to meet you at the door! If you want absolutely incredible food, give it a try...bet you don't go just once. By the way, a fantastic place for takeout too.

Anonymous Reviewer


November 26, 2013
Vote = 2.0Vote = 2.0Vote = 2.0Vote = 2.0Vote = 2.0

Comment on this review

On Saturday, November 23, 2013 I had lunch at Winchester's newest restaurant, The Brooklyn Chef, at 819 South Braddock Street. A small parking lot provides off-street parking for four cars.

I had been monitoring this location after a sign had appeared here earlier this month, with no information about its opening date for business. Today, a neon sign proclaimed that it was open and this was my first opportunity to check it out.

The Brooklyn Chef opens at 11:00 AM six days a week, and is closed on Sunday. Closing times are 9:30 PM Monday-Thursday, and 10:00 PM on Friday and Saturday. The phone number is 540-323-7077, with fax service at 540-323-7129. It advertises delivery service, and New York style food.

It's a small place on the corner of South Braddock and Handley Boulevard, across from the Handley High School Campus, and had most recently housed The Wok Zone. Its new operators appeared to be a family group, and one of the staff told me that it had been open about a week.

The entry is from Braddock, on the left side of the building, and opens into a small dining area with three square tables, each seating four people. The entry space also has a unisex rest room and a flat-screen TV.

A slightly larger dining area is in a room to the left of the first room, and has four of the same type of square tables. The back wall of this room has a counter without seating in front of the kitchen. There's also a refrigerated display case with bottled and canned drinks.

The total indoor seating capacity is 28, and there are no sidewalk tables; there isn't any room for them because of the parking lot.

The menu is printed on both sides of a glossy 8.5x11-inch sheet of yellow paper. Its main categories are Appetizers, Soups, Salads, Cold Subs, Hot Subs, Kids Menu, Burgers, Pasta Dishes, Specialties, Desserts, and Drinks (no wine or beer).

I noted that the burger menu included a Lamb Burger, something I haven't seen in other eateries. That's not important to me; I never eat lamb.

My selection was a Brooklyn Pastrami Sandwich; listed with the Cold Subs, it was “Pastrami, piled high on Rye bread with brown mustard”. I skipped the optional fries, etc., because I don't eat much for lunch.

The sandwich was good; the pastrami was indeed piled high, and the spicy mustard was used lightly and was not overwhelming. My server told me that the pastrami came from Brooklyn.

The restaurant's space is crowded, but light and airy because the entry area has two large plate glass windows; one faces Braddock Street and the other faces Handley Boulevard. The other dining area's window faces Braddock Street.

No other patrons came in during my stay of about an hour. One situation that gave me pause about the venue was the presence of three small children around one of the tables in the entry area. I'm not certain that the Virginia Department of Health would approve.

One child was a baby about four to six months old in a holder, propped up on the table. He was being soothed by a teen-age girl trying to keep him from crying, with occasional help from a smaller girl. The server, who may have been the manager, told me that the baby was her grandson Riley.

Riley didn't like being in the holder, and was happy when he was picked up and carried around. Babies usually relate to me, but not this one; when I tried to speak to him he turned his head away and became agitated.

I'm going to keep The Brooklyn Chef in mind for another visit in several months to see how it is doing, but I'm curious as to whether it will last that long. If they earn a review in the Food Section of The Winchester Star, it might give them a boost. However, I don't believe that restaurants should be used for family baby-sitting.

An ice cream parlor called the Dairy Cream Corner was the occupant of this space before it became The Wok Zone, but I never got around to trying it out. Before that, it was an audio-visual outfit, and once, upon a long time ago, it was a candle store back when candle-making was an active fad.

Perry Crabill


November 23, 2013
Vote = 2.0Vote = 2.0Vote = 2.0Vote = 2.0Vote = 2.0

Comment on this review


On Saturday, November 23, 2013 I had lunch at Winchester's newest restaurant, The Brooklyn Chef, at 819 South Braddock Street. A small parking lot provides off-street parking for four cars. I had been monitoring this location after a sign had appeared here earlier this month, with no information about its opening date for business. Today, a neon sign proclaimed that it was open and this was my first opportunity to check it out.

The Brooklyn Chef opens at 11:00 AM six days a week, and is closed on Sunday. Closing times are 9:30 PM Monday-Thursday, and 10:00 PM on Friday and Saturday. The phone number is 540-323-7077, with fax service at 540-323-7129. It advertises delivery service, and New York style food.

It's a small place on the corner of South Braddock and Handley Boulevard, across from the Handley High School Campus, and had most recently housed The Wok Zone. Its new operators appeared to be a family group, and one of the staff told me that it had been open about a week. The entry is from Braddock, on the left side of the building, and opens into a small dining area with three square tables, each seating four people.

The entry space also has a unisex rest room and a flat-screen TV. A slightly larger dining area is in a room to the left of the first room, and has four of the same type of square tables. The back wall of this room has a counter without seating in front of the kitchen. There's also a refrigerated display case with bottled and canned drinks. The total indoor seating capacity is 28, and there are no sidewalk tables; there isn't any room for them because of the parking lot.

The menu is printed on both sides of a glossy 8.5x11-inch sheet of yellow paper. Its main categories are Appetizers, Soups, Salads, Cold Subs, Hot Subs, Kids Menu, Burgers, Pasta Dishes, Specialties, Desserts, and Drinks (no wine or beer). I noted that the burger menu included a Lamb Burger, something I haven't seen in other eateries. That's not important to me; I never eat lamb.

My selection was a Brooklyn Pastrami Sandwich; listed with the Cold Subs, it was “Pastrami, piled high on Rye bread with brown mustard”. I skipped the optional fries, etc., because I don't eat much for lunch. The sandwich was good; the pastrami was indeed piled high, and the spicy mustard was used lightly and was not overwhelming. My server told me that the pastrami came from Brooklyn.

The restaurant's space is crowded, but light and airy because the entry area has two large plate glass windows; one faces Braddock Street and the other faces Handley Boulevard. The other dining area's window faces Braddock Street. No other patrons came in during my stay of about an hour. One situation that gave me pause about the venue was the presence of three small children around one of the tables in the entry area. I'm not certain that the Virginia Department of Health would approve.

One child was a baby about four to six months old in a holder, propped up on the table. He was being soothed by a teen-age girl trying to keep him from crying, with occasional help from a smaller girl. The server, who may have been the manager, told me that the baby was her grandson Riley. He didn't like being in the holder, and was happy when he was picked up and carried around. Babies usually relate to me, but not Riley; when I tried to speak to him he turned his head away and became agitated.

I'm going to keep The Brooklyn Chef in mind for another visit in several months to see how it is doing, but I'm curious as to whether it will last that long. If they earn a review in the Food Section of The Winchester Star, it might give them a boost. However, I don't believe that restaurants should be used for family baby-sitting.

An ice cream parlor called the Dairy Cream Corner was the occupant of this space before it became The Wok Zone, but I never got around to trying it out. Before that, it was an audio-visual outfit, and once, upon a long time ago, it was a candle store back when candle-making was an active fad.

Perry Crabill